Menu

Rural Emergency Skills Training (REST) - overview

"Having been through multiple resuscitation's and emergency courses over the years, I found that REST gave me the most structured organic approach to emergency scenario yet. "

- Dimitry Pdorozhnyy,
REST participant

We understand as a rural generalist you may be faced with emergency situations on a regular basis and may be the first and only health professional at the scene. That’s why we offer a Rural Emergency Skills Training (REST) course – to ensure you have the necessary skills and confidence to deal with emergency situations confidently and competently.

With a hands-on approach to learning, this course covers not just basic life support, but more advanced techniques to assist with managing life-threatening injuries and multi-trauma events. This two-day course provides a structured approach to assist doctors in dealing with stressful situations, providing a sense of calm under chaotic circumstances by ensuring steps are not missed.

REST provides you with:

  • comprehensive knowledge and skills
  • confidence and competence to practise in a rural and remote setting

Accreditation

ACRRM Professional Development Program
ACRRM vocational training pathways
  • Tier 1 emergency medicine course
  • REST counts towards Advanced Skills Training (AST), Emergency Medicine and Joint Consultative Committee on Anaesthesia (JCCA)
QI&CPD
  • 40 category 1 points

REST courseCost

Check the table below for course fees. Fees must be paid at the time of registration in order to secure a place. Find out if you are eligible for a grant to help fund your attendance.

Register

DatesLocationStateRegisterFees
Sat, 07 Jul 2018 - Sun, 08 Jul 2018Coffs Harbour
Pacific Bay Resort
NSWRegisterMember: 3160.00
Non Member: 3480.00
Sat, 21 Jul 2018 - Sun, 22 Jul 2018Brisbane
Novotel
QLDRegisterMember: 3160.00
Non Member: 3480.00
Sat, 04 Aug 2018 - Sun, 05 Aug 2018Cairns
Pullman Reef Casino
QLDRegisterMember: 3160.00
Non Member: 3480.00
Sat, 04 Aug 2018 - Sun, 05 Aug 2018Perth
Pan Pacific
WARegisterMember: 3160.00
Non Member: 3480.00
Sat, 01 Sep 2018 - Sun, 02 Sep 2018Canberra
Novotel
NSWRegisterMember: 3160.00
Non Member: 3480.00
Sat, 08 Sep 2018 - Sun, 09 Sep 2018Melbourne
Hotel Grand Chancellor
VICRegisterMember: 3160.00
Non Member: 3480.00
Sat, 15 Sep 2018 - Sun, 16 Sep 2018Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
NSWRegisterMember: 3160.00
Non Member: 3480.00
Sat, 06 Oct 2018 - Sun, 07 Oct 2018Hobart
Hobart Function & Convention Centre
TASRegisterMember: 3160.00
Non Member: 3480.00
Tue, 23 Oct 2018 - Wed, 24 Oct 2018Darwin
Darwin Convention Centre
NTRegisterMember: 3160.00
Non Member: 3480.00
Sat, 17 Nov 2018 - Sun, 18 Nov 2018Adelaide
AMPHeat
SARegisterMember: 3160.00
Non Member: 3480.00
Sat, 17 Nov 2018 - Sun, 18 Nov 2018Melbourne
Hotel Grand Chancellor
VICRegisterMember: 3160.00
Non Member: 3480.00
Sat, 01 Dec 2018 - Sun, 02 Dec 2018Brisbane
Venue TBC
QLDRegisterMember: 3160.00
Non Member: 3480.00

Please note: It is mandatory that participants be present for the entire duration of the REST course on both days (8am to 5pm local time). Therefore it is highly recommended for interstate travelers to arrive at the course location at least one day prior to the commencement of the course.

If for any unexpected reason a participant arrives after the course has commenced and missed the ‘Structured Approach’ and ‘Basic Life Support’ lectures, their place in the course will be forfeited. The participant will be required to re-book and this may also incur additional charges.